Grief is a tricky thing

Today is my mother’s first anniversary in heaven. I have counted the weeks since she passed away last year, celebrating each Sunday. But as the anniversary approached, I wondered if it was a good idea to continue counting. Was it a reminder to grieve? However, there are other signs in the universe that don’t make me forget to think about her.

Two days before she died, I was in the emergency room for paralyzing pain on my left side. The doctors said it was a chronic condition that I would have to live with. Twenty minutes are leaving the hospital, I got the call from my mother’s hospice worker that she was unresponsive. Right now, I have that pain, and I relive those moments each time I have a flare-up.

But the weirdest place where grief has hit me is in the frozen food section of grocery stores. Mom and I loved ice cream. The freezer at home was never without it. Back in March, the latest offerings from Breyers, Turkey Hill and others were on the shelves, and I kept finding new flavors that I thought Mom would like. I was so just to the fact that I couldn’t have Eddy’s French Silk ice cream because that was Mom’s favorite. There could not be competing containers in our household. I stared at all the tantalizing containers and could not make a rational decision.

Has buying ice cream gotten any easier? A little. I tried to buy some yesterday. In my cart was a bouquet of purple and pink flowers I wanted to decorate for her urn table, a tradition I’d like to carry every year of her passing. Despite the store’s sale on four kinds of ice cream, I left empty-handed. I was looking for one of Mom’s favorites — rocky road. It’s a fine flavor as it had two important things on Mom’s checklist: it must have chocolate and nuts. Unfortunately, there were no discounted containers. I thought about getting a fruit-based ice cream, but that triggered another memory. Shortly before Mom was admitted to a nursing home, I bought Turkey Hill’s Banana Split ice cream, not knowing that Mom would not be returning home. I kept the containing in the freezer as I hoped that she would be back, but it never happened.

img_1707.jpg

Today is about celebrating her life and her love. I’ll watch “Young Frankenstein” because she loved Mel Brooks movies and Teri Garr. The flowers will brighten the room, and I will complete the kitchen altar that so far has one of the chargers used for the visitation and a jar of candies (besides ice cream, this house was never without chocolate). I will also read one of the notes left by visitors in a glass bowl as a guide for meditation. I finally worked the courage to read them. I’ve wanted to do so for a long time. Having people check on me has been great, knowing that I belong to a club no one wants to be a member of, but they are happy to help others in their position.

There are days where I don’t think I’ve had a chance to grieve. Work, bills, social media and our changing political climate take up so much daily space. But this morning, I woke up at 8:22 a.m. without an alarm. My mom died between 8 and 8:30. Sometimes the universe reminds us that we’re doing our part anyway.

giphy (13)

 

 

Leave a comment